top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDwaylon Bledsoe

Benefits of Writing

Benefits of Writing


Writing is an amazing discovery. Being able to use words to create a story, to communicate, and when creating stories or just writing you can use your imagination. Everyone writes as we write letters, blog posts, Facebook posts, papers for school, text messages, etc. Writing is all around us and there are some people who write for a passion, for their lifetime, and some for money. Whatever the case may be there are benefits to writing and I want to share with you the benefits I discover since I started writing to constantly writing. 


I discovered I wanted to explore writing in my senior year in High School when I was introduced to poetry. After being introduced to poetry, I began to write more poems and then keep a notebook with all of my poems. The feeling of writing poems is a relaxing feeling for me because I am using my imagination when writing poems. After a pause of writing poems, I started to journal and I would write down my feelings, how my day was, experiences that would change me and inspire me. I also spiritual journal about my spiritual journey. As I continue to explore writing I began to explore writing a book. I always wanted to write books but there was a time I was afraid to do so and when I decided not to be afraid anymore I took the risk and put together my first poetry book and published it. I want to share I don't write to be famous, I write because I want to share my knowledge as well as encourage others through my writing. I want to share with you three benefits I discover so far as I grow as a writer. 


The first benefit I discovered with writing is observation. When I decided I want to write more my focus began to look at how I write whether it was for school or on my own time. Every time I would write something for school I look at the flow of the paper and it doesn't flow well with me I change it. It takes me longer to write papers because I am being very observant of my writing and how I want the paper to flow. I think it's important to be observant of what you are writing. As I begin to write more I always looking at and being observant of what I write and how it is written. I think being observant is important when you are developing your writing skills. Being observant keeps you mindful of what you are writing, and how you are telling the story with your writing. Observing may seem like you are editing as you are writing, not necessarily because observing your writing when you are typing or however you write is telling the story as you imagine it in your head. As you develop your writing skills and want to grow as a writer it's important to be observant of your writing and your writing style. 


The second benefit I discovered is beauty. When you see the words you wrote from the story in your mind it is a beautiful sight. Seeing how the words connect to tell a story about what you are visualizing is amazing to see. When I look over my writing and see how the writing is telling a story I am amazed because I think it is a good creation of what I see and thinking in my mind. Now I know that everyone may not like the work but to me to be able to see the words connect and flow makes me realize that I love to write and like seeing words on a paper or technology. So as you write and as you grow as a writer see the beauty in your writing and appreciate what you are writing. 


The third benefit I discovered is excitement. I write blog posts, write books, white papers, etc. I find excitement when I am creating something new. I find excitement when I am creating titles and blog posts because writing is helping me share my knowledge with others. When I know that I am sharing my writing it's very exciting because you are sharing your imagination with others through writing. As others read your work they and if you have the opportunity to discuss your writing with others it can create excitement in conversations with others. As you grow as a writer I think you should be excited about what you are writing and what you are doing. There is so much excitement in writing and you will be enlightened of how much excitement you will find in writing. Don't stop writing but whatever you do find the benefits of your writing!


Dwaylon Bledsoe

Aspire to Greatness


New Blog Post Every Monday!! 

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Learning from the Past and Focus on the Future Pt.2

This post is a continuation of the last learning from the past and focuses on the future. What will be discussed in this post is the benefits of learning from your past to focus on your future. Your p

Learning from the Past and Focus on the Future

In life, we have trials and tribulations. We have problems and obstacles and we have positive and negative experiences throughout our lifetime. We go through so much in our lifetime and in every exper

How to be Committed to Writing

Every individual writes either for a career, extra income or write just for their own pleasure. Whatever the case maybe there is a commitment to writing because you have to focus and commit to what yo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page